152MC Required Images

Within the brief for this project, we have a set of images that we are required to produce. Some didn’t seem like they were relevant to my project however, I managed to think of ways to make them suit my project. Below are the required images:

Produce a Series of Still Life Images

Definition: “A still life is a work of art depicting mostly inanimate subject matter, typically commonplace objects which may be either natural (food, flowers, dead animals, plants, rocks, or shells) or man-made (drinking glasses, books, vases, jewellery, coins, pipes, and so on).” (Wikipedia, 2015)

As still life can often include flowers, then this of course was easy to relate to my project as my whole theme is based around flowers. With my shoots, I chose to remain outdoors and use natural lighting so the images didn’t look staged. I wanted to keep a natural feel to the images and show them just how we would see them with our eyes. If I had access to the studio, I would have probably experimented a bit more with photographing flowers inside and set them up to look more staged and artistic just so I could see how the images would turn out. I probably wouldn’t have used these images but I feel as though that is something a photographer can never be certain on until they have actually produced the images.

Produce a Portrait or Set of

Definition: Typically, a portrait is an image depicting a person and capturing their face however, it can be interpreted in different ways. For example, I could produce images that capture the destruction of humans which is a reflection of them, therefore could be seen as a portrait of them without actually showing them. A portrait is said to capture the likeness, personality or even the mood of a person. In reference to a lecture I attended in my first term, a portrait can capture the essence of a person or represent them.

This is an image I have always seen as a portrait as it quite obviously shows destruction unleashed onto the world by man. It is also portrait orientated and to me, is also a portrait of the power station itself.

This is an image I have always seen as a portrait as it quite obviously shows destruction unleashed onto the world by man. It is also portrait orientated and to me, is also a portrait of the power station itself.

Here are images I have captured over the course of my project that has the presence of someone without focusing directly on them. This leaves the image more open to interpretation and the audience can make their own conclusions about the people within the images.

Produce a Landscape or Set of

Definition: Landscape photography involves capturing a natural scene, a lot of websites state it to be rural however, I believe it can be any stretch of land, and usually shows off the features of that land such as buildings, mountains, lakes, fields, and often includes the sky in the images too. In my case, most images will however be rural due rural areas having an abundance of nature.

Produce an interior or series of Interior Images

Definition: When I first started thinking about interior images, I instantly thought of photographing the inside of buildings which isn’t really relevant to my project at all as I am photographing the beauty of nature; which of course is usually outside. This panicked me slightly but after further research, I realised that interior is the inside of anything. Not just a building.

With this in mind, I did actually find myself photographing inside a building. Below are the images from this:

Outside, I photographed interiors in a different way. I photographed inside of bushes to show dead plants and petals and leaves that had fallen into them, as well as the inside of gaps in fences and trees.

References:

