Assignment 2 – Martin Parr – Line of Enquiry Updated

Today we had a group critique on our line of enquiry’s in order to help us with our final presentations and gain feedback on what we have done so far. I found this to be a very helpful session and I gained feedback on how my line of enquiry could be improved. I think the better my line of enquiry, the better my final presentation will be as it provides a clear structure and plan for the presentation which allows me to be more organised.

I had positive and constructive feedback on my line of enquiry. The positives were that it has a clear structure and all relates back to the initial question which I have tried my best to keep to, and also includes references to other photographers. The constructive feedback I got was regarding the use of “Benidorm” as a main body of work to focus on. To discuss the humour and seriousness of Parr’s work overall and come up with a well thought out conclusion, I was told it would be better to look at a wide range of work. Parr has produced many books that include photographs from various different bodies of work and I should look at more of Martin Parr’s work on a whole to find out if there are some photographs that come with more serious messages than others.

Here is my new line of enquiry:

“The fundamental thing I’m exploring constantly is the difference between the mythology of the place and the reality of it. Remember I make serious photographs disguised as entertainment.”

How does Martin Parr use humour in his work and does it work in portraying a more serious meaning?

My presentation will be an investigation into the use of humour in Martin Parr’s work and how this is received by the public. I will be looking at a variety of images by Martin Parr and look at how the humour is perceived by the public, as some of his work may be found to be offensive. One possible body of work to look at may be Life’s a Beach.

Necessary Context

I will contain a brief introduction about Martin Parr which will include a little bit of information on his background and what he does, and will contain a summary of his work. (Photojournalist/Documentary photography, what he photographs) This will provide context to my presentation so people will understand who/what I’m discussing.

Detailed Deconstruction

How has Parr’s name become so popular and well known? What are the serious messages behind them? What critique has he received on his work? What make’s it stand out? Compare with regular documentary photography on a similar subject.

Influenced Works

Compare with the work of Peter Dench who has similar work. Also compare with Tony Ray Jones who inspired Martin Parr’s work. Possibly look more into artists who may have been influenced by Martin Parr himself. Discuss how these have been received in comparison to Martin Parr’s work.

Support and Conclusion

Answer the main question, does humour work well or does it cover the serious message? Explain why and if and how it could be changed if needed.