151MC Mid Term Tutorial Notes

Today we had a day of presenting our work to the class in order to gain feedback. I had presented my idea of looking at the dream homes of the homeless. This is what came from the session:

  • I will need to ask permission to talk to homeless people within a shelter. This may take time as I would have to contact a shelter first and be accepted to volunteer. Even then, it would still take time to build trust with the people here. This may be time that I don’t have.
  • From my presentation, I was told that it seemed I was generalising opinions from the research I have done which obviously doesn’t work well. It may have seemed that I needed to do more research (which I planned on doing within the homeless shelter as well as carrying out a survey with people who have home), in order to get more opinions.
  • I would need to think about the ethics behind making images on homeless people. I don’t want to portray them in a bad light or appear to look down on them. This is something I have already discussed in my previous posts.
  • Look at landscapes for the homeless by Anthony Hernandez. There are other ways of portraying homeless people without meeting them. This may make the project more doable with the time I have.
  • Also look into the work of Tom Hunter. He has done some work based on council houses.
  • Ben Cravlingcall has done work on immigrants in Amesterdam on picbod.
  • Kensington Blues could possibly help too. A piece we looked at as part of our lecture series a few weeks back.
  • The course director for fine art at our university made a project that involved for sale signs outside of homes with a picture of their new home stuck on it. Rochelle.
  • Look up Martha Rosler Lotecia Valverdez

After this tutorial, I decided to change my idea slightly, again. I need a project that is achievable with the time I have therefore, may look into the dream homes of people the working class/people I know. These people are more accessible and will be easier to interview. These people are also a less sensitive type of group in the sense that they aren’t a vulnerable group of people who are often portrayed badly.