151MC Sophie Calle

Sophie Calle is a French photographer, installation artist and conceptual artist. Her work often shows human vulnerability and looks at identity and intimacy. Although her work doesn’t follow the exact same theme my work does, I really like her approach to presenting her work. In her series “The Blind”, she interviewed people who had lost their vision and asked them what their idea of beauty is. To present her work, she included a piece of text on plain paper, accompanied by a portrait of the interviewee and her photographic interpretation of what beauty is to them. Below are some examples:

 

I would like to explore this style of working for my own work. I would start by taking a portrait image of the interviewee, ask them all about their idea of a dream home, and then photograph it. I could possibly photograph the home they have now too and place their dream home and current home side by side.

References: